The 2014 session of the Colorado state legislature is underway, and the far right is already hard at work filling up the calendar with dangerous bills. We need you to take action right now to stop two of them at their first Colorado House committee hearing this Thursday afternoon.

Take a moment right now to call or email members of the House Judiciary Committee (see below) and tell them to OPPOSE the so-called “fetal homicide” backdoor abortion ban, and a bill that would allow anyone to carry concealed weapons without a permit.

This year, opponents of a women’s right to reproductive choice have introduced yet another version of what they call the “fetal homicide” bill, House Bill 14-1049. This legislation is a back-door attempt to chip away at settled law guaranteeing reproductive choice for all women in the United States. Colorado already has laws providing for tough sentences for crimes against pregnant women, making this legislation completely unnecessary. Your Colorado legislators need to know you see through the far right’s deceptive language, and that you won’t stand for this attack on women’s rights and health.

Another terrible bill to be heard in the House Judiciary Committee Thursday afternoon is House Bill 14-1041, which would allow anyone to carry a concealed handgun without a permit. In Colorado, we respect the rights of every law-abiding citizen to own guns for hunting and defense. Anyone with a clean record who passes basic safety courses can already get a permit to carry a concealed weapon in Colorado. It would be outlandish to do away with these requirements for basic education and signoff by the local sheriff.

Help us stop both of these bad ideas before they get any traction. Call or email members of the House Judiciary Committee right now, and tell them to OPPOSE these bills in Thursday’s committee hearing:

Rep. Daniel Kagan, Chair Phone: 303-866-2921 E-Mail: repkagan@gmail.com
Rep. Pete Lee, Vice-Chair Phone: 303-866-2932 E-Mail: pete.lee.house@state.co.us
Rep. John Buckner Phone: 303-866-2944 E-Mail: john.buckner.house@state.co.us
Rep. Polly Lawrence Phone: 303-866-2935 E-Mail: polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us
Rep. Brittany Pettersen Phone: 303-866-2939 E-Mail: brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us
Rep. Lois Court Phone: 303-866-2967 E-Mail: lois.court.house@state.co.us
Rep. Mike McLachlan Phone: 303-866-2914 E-Mail: mike.mclachlan.house@state.co.us
Rep. Joe Salazar Phone: 303-866-2918 E-Mail: joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us
Rep. Bob Gardner Phone: 303-866-2191 E-Mail: bob.gardner.house@state.co.us
Rep. Carole Murray Phone: 303-866-2948 E-Mail: murrayhouse45@gmail.com
Rep. Mark Waller Phone: 303-866-5523 E-Mail: mark.waller.house@state.co.us

After you contact them, drop us a line to tell us what you said–and please forward us any replies you receive as well.

Thank you for taking quick action to stop these bad bills. I’m sorry to say that in the next 100 days of our state’s legislative session, there will likely be many more. The right wing is pulling out all the stops in this election year, and we have to do more than just defeat bad bills. We need to make sure voters understand what’s at stake in the upcoming elections. Working together, we’ll make sure our legislature does the right thing, and leave Colorado better than we found it.

Sincerely,

Amy Runyon-Harms